Lanzhou University


Lanzhou University [Photo/VCG]

As a national comprehensive university under the direct authority of the Ministry of Education, Lanzhou University (LZU) is supported by Project 985 and Project 211.

LZU’s history can be traced back to 1909, when it was known as Gansu Law and Politics School, which marked the beginning of modern higher education in Gansu province and pioneered higher education in the northwest region. With its long history, it ranks as one of the top 30 of over 1,500 universities across China.

Occupying 236 acres, LZU has two campuses and three affiliated hospitals. It also has eight national key disciplines, two national key disciplines, 35 provincial key disciplines and three provincial key disciplines.

It has 19,775 undergraduates, 10,572 postgraduates and 2,559 doctoral candidates. It employs 3,718 faculty members, including 2,135 full-time teachers, 836 administrative staff and 142 postdoctoral researchers. There are also 588 professors and 927 associate professors.

Education of foreign students in LZU first started in 1983, and the self-supporting program began to enroll foreign students in 1989. Over the past 30 years, the university has recruited over 4,000 international students.

Moreover, LZU has established exchanges and communication with 189 foreign universities in 40 countries and regions, including University of California Berkeley, University of California Davis, University of Ottawa, University of Leeds, Université de Paris VII of France, University of Cologne, Uppsala University of Sweden, University of Torino, Tohoku University of Japan, Sungkyunkwan University of South Korea, City University of Hong Kong, and Taiwan University.

Chengguan Campus
Address: 222 South Tianshui Rd, Lanzhou, Gansu province

Yuzhong Campus
Address: Xiaguanying Town, Yuzhong county, Lanzhou, Gansu province

Tel: +86-931-8911110, 8911119, 5292110
Zip Code: 730000